2019 Education Award Winners Announced


Source: Holstein Canada

The annual Education Award is part of Holstein Canada’s commitment to supporting dairy producers across the country, no matter what their age. The $1000 are awarded to six recipients from across the country: two from Ontario, two from Quebec, one from the Western provinces, and one from the Maritimes.

The Young Leader Advisory Committee evaluated the worthy candidates from this year’s bundle of applications based on their farm and work involvement; youth and community involvement; career choice; scholastic achievements; and, new this year, an essay question based on Holstein Canada’s services. This year’s Education Award winners are:

  • Christina Boonstoppel, Grunthal, Manitoba
  • Hannah Woodhouse, Guelph, Ontario
  • Jaime Wilson, Port Perry, Ontario
  • Jonathan Pelletier, Saint-Gervais, Quebec
  • Leslie Mackinnon, Coaticook, Quebec
  • Grace Hughes, Bonshaw, P.E.I.

The goal of the Education Award is to select and award well-rounded individuals in the Canadian dairy industry that have made a commitment to their career, community, schooling, and the industry at large. The initiative falls under Pillar Three of “Awards and Recognition” in the Young Leaders Program.

On behalf of the Selection Committee, I would like to congratulate this year’s winners for being exceptional candidates that have bright futures in agriculture.